top of page

Northern Counties Junior Singles Champion & Bowls England Junior Singles Runner-Up

Winners: Anthony Booth-Young.

An outstanding performance from Anthony.  He just gets better & better.  The photograph is with the Northern Counties Trophy.

Club Champion - The Readey Trophy

Winner: Michael Joyce

Michael joined the club by way of the Learn2Bowl initiative as recently as April 2014 and has improved every season, culminating in winning the Club Championship this year, overcoming last year's Champion Anthony Booth-Young in the Final.  He has represented both Club and County and this year also qualified for the National Finals at Royal Leamington Spa.

Men's Championship - The Williamson Trophy.

Winner: Rhys Vaughan

Rhys last won this competition in 2011.  This is the seventh time he has been men's champion.  Unlucky Runner-up for the second year in succession year was Graham Booth.  Qualifies next year for the National Champion of Champions.

Ladies Champion - The Hunt Cup

Winner: Lesley Waddington

Positions reversed from last year, with Lesley winning and Bernie as Runner-Up. Lesley therefore qualifies for next season's Champion of Champions National Competition.

The Hunt Cup Consolation - "The Little Lady"

Winner: Eleanor Benvie.

The Hunt Cup Consolation, is affectionately known as "The Lttle Lady", which describes the Trophy perfectly.  It is competed for by those ladies who lose their first game in the main Hunt Cup competition.  Club Captain Michael Parker presents the Trophy to Eleanor.

TV Sets Singles - The Lawrence Gordon Memorial Trophy

Winner: Anthony Booth-Young

Having been runner-up last year, Anthony came off best this year in a close match against Gordon Niven.

Handicap Singles - The McNair Trophy

Winner: Michael Joyce

Third time lucky for Mike, having been runner-up in the previous two years.  The handicap rules were amended in 2015, so that after the initial handicap allocation, a player's subsequent performance in the competition determined their handicap next year.  Mike was playing off +3 this year, so will lose two points to play off +1 next year.  Runner up was Lyndon Noon, who as a final qualifier will lose one point next year.

The Early Bird Singles - The J & W Cropper Trophy.

Winner: Barrie Kitson.

Barrie becomes a three time winner of the Early Bird, having won in 2010 and 2017.   

Runner-up was Peter Rogers.  

The Challenge Pairs - The J. H. Smith Trophy

Winner: Lesley & Steve Waddington

Rhys & Anthony's stranglehold on this competition was broken this year as they lost in the quarter-final.  In a very closely fought final, Lesley and Steve came from 8-12 behind with two to play, to win 13-12 against the pairing of experience in the shape of Gordon Niven and new recruit Andy Hoyle.

The Ladies Balloted Pairs - The Howlett Trophy.

Winners: Babs Hornby & Angela Hampson.

After last year's disappointment competition resumed this year with a win for Babs and Angela, Runners-Up were Joan Hamilton, (another Learn2Bowl graduate) and Lesley Waddington.

The Australian Balloted Pairs - The J & B Branche Trophy

Winners: Barbara Knowles & Graham Ellis.

The Aussi Pairs was changed to a balloted competition this year and the draw threw up some interesting pairings.  Winners Barbara and Graham were both Learn2Bowl graduates, as was losing finalist Mike Faulkner who played with Club Captain Mike Parker. 

The Balloted Pairs - The Les Colbourne Memorial Shield

Winners: Joan Hamilton & Barrie Kitson.

The Les Colbourne is one of the original balloted competitions and like the others gives a change for less experienced or newer club members to play alongside the experts.  Joan, yet another Learn2Bowl graduate, lost in the Final of the Howlett, but gained her win in the company of National Finalist Barrie Kitson.  Runners-Up were Eleanor Benvie & Rhys Vaughan.

The Atherton-Thind Mixed Pairs.

Winners: Christine Hardman & Mike Joyce.

Three titles for Mike and two for Christine.  Runners-Up were Evelyn Franklin and Peter Rogers.

The Over 50's Pairs - The Eddie Morgan Trophy

Winners: Don Murray & John Muldoon.

The 2016 winners retrieved the trophy after loaning it to Bob & Graham last year.  Hard to believe they're old enough to qualify for this. Runners-Up were Barbara Knowles and Bob Stobie.

The Over 65 Pairs.

Winners: Norman Wright & Peter Rogers.

As the club age demographic changes it was felt that it was time to try a new competition for our more mature members, and so the Over 65 pairs was born.  John Schofield & Alan Hill were the inaugural winners and had qualified again for the final, but unfortunately Alan was otherwise engaged, so Gordon Niven stood in.  Alan must have been missed because they came second to Peter & Norman!

The President's Balloted Pairs

Winners: Brendan Hamilton & John Muldoon.

Designed for those who don't play at the higher levels, (we made an exception for John by not including the Handicap Singles in the exclusion criteria), this competition is not open to players who have previously won a Club, County, Northern Counties or National singles competition during the previous ten years.  Brendan stood in for fellow Learn2Bowl graduate Maggie Russell, who couldn't play, and they overcame Anna Quigley and Bob Stobie.

The Mixed Triples - The Spencer Trophy

Winners: Christine Hardman, Dominic McVittie & Barrie Kitson.

A close game, with Dominic subbing for Sue Kitson, who was unavailable.  Runners-Up were Bernie Hill, Graham Booth & Anthony Booth-Young.

The Millenium Balloted Triples - The Margaret Baker Trophy

Winners: Bernie Hill, Norman Wright & Don Murray.

An excellent performance from the Executive Team against high quality opposition who were unable to match the excellent play from the winners.  Runners-up were Phil Thorpe, Mike Joyce & Barrie Kitson.

The Singles League Division One - The Jean Gordon Trophy

Winner: Gordon Niven.

A more clear cut win for Gordon this year as a loss from Rhys to Mike Parker gave him the title with one game spare.  League Champion for the third year in a row for Gordon.  Rhys hung on to second, and Mike Parker finished third.

Singles League Division Two

Winner: John Muldoon.

Both John & Mike Joyce dipped their toe in the singles league this season, and with returning Spanish expat John Haigh, claimed the three promotion spots in that order.

The Pairs League - The Tony Gaffner Trophy

 Winners: Peter Rogers & Lyndon Noon.

 Not a large entry this year, but after last year's gap the competition was won by Peter & Lyndon.

The Australian Pairs League - The Nora Rosebowl

Winners: Graham Booth & Anthony Booth-Young.

Third year in succession for Graham & Anthony.  Runners-up were Ken Hayes & Duncan Wilson.

The Drynan Shield Sweepstake

Winner: Peter Rogers

Regular attendance and consistent bowling is required to win the Drynan, and as Peter organises the competition and has a modicum of skill, he qualifies on both counts.  Runner-up was John Muldoon.

Past Members Memorial Trophy - donated by Michael Parker.

 Joint Winners: Norma Mellor & John Benvie.

An annual competition, with a relaxed, light hearted format, in memory of our past members.


The Harding Trophy.

Winners: Bolton Flat Green Bowling Club.

The annual "serious" friendly between BFGBC & Heaton Hall BC was played at Heaton Park this year and BFGBC regained the trophy this year.

Frostbite 2017/2018

Overall Winner: Peter Rogers.

The usual three categories.  Winner of the Monday night session was Peter Rogers, with Kevin Grundy as Runner-Up.  The Saturday session winner was Brendan Hamilton, again with Kevin as Runner-up, a position he also filled in the overall competition. 

Please reload

bottom of page